Lunch with Sweet Charles

Any day I spend real face time with a special friend is a good day. Today was one of those days.

I had lunch at Houstons on 27th and Park with Charles, my good friend and “trusted advisor.” I didn’t realize how long we’d been friends until he started commenting about my life six to seven years ago, and how much I’ve grown since then. Amazing how time flies.

Charles is the perfect person to bounce ideas off of. We’re so much alike, yet so different. And that creates a great balance in our friendship. Although I probably only see him four to five times a year, there’s something solid about our friendship that leads me to believe that he’ll be a treasured friend for the rest of my life.

Each of my good friends brings something unique, yet important, to my life.

Charles’ gift is that he reminded me about the value of integrity. Lessons are more easily learned when the teacher walks the walk. Charles does this, and I’m certainly glad I re-learned this integrity lesson through him, because my life has clearly benefitted from my renewed dedication to living this way (not that I was ever living the other way; I was just not consciously living with integrity).

Last night, I came across an old email chain between us. It was a terrific example of why I am so blessed to have him in my life. I was having a frantic “OMG, Charles, what the hell am I going to do with my life?” moment.

As always, Mr. Princeton didn’t miss a beat. “Breathe, Connie, and ask yourself these four questions: blah, blah, blah, and blah.” My response was yes, yes, no and yes. My decision was made. It was that easy.

That’s what I love about Charles. He cuts through my drama and gets directly to the point. And that’s what a good friendship is all about.

These historical emails serve as great “reminders” as to how far I’ve come in a life that constantly changes. I’m glad I’ve kept them. Seeing the progress made is great, but being reminded of how a true friendship can blossom over time when both friends are dedicated to keeping it alive is even better.

Thanks Charles!

About Constance Hammond

A fun-loving, hard-working bootstrapper...with guts.
This entry was posted in Building Character, Having A Vision, Integrity, Philosophies, Success and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lunch with Sweet Charles

  1. Pingback: My Friends Give Me A Headache! » Resort Locals

  2. Pingback: Do You Give Money To Panhandlers? » Resort Locals

Leave a Reply

