Is Nick Nolte My Brother?

Although I survived the 18 hour cross country trek from NYC to MPLS in my 10’ Budget Rental truck, I’m a little concerned about what this experience has done to me.

I looked in the mirror this morning and got scared.

Nick Nolte's Mug ShotCould I be Nick Nolte’s sister? I seriously looked like a female-version of his mug shot (at least I can say I wasn’t wearing a hawaiian shirt). This move has definitely, most negatively, impacted me physically. In other words, the mirror is not my friend.

I am so grateful that Nate Olson, a really good friend of mine who always comes through for me, didn’t get scared and run away when he saw me last night. I called Nate in a bit of a panic, feeling overwhelmed with a forecasted blizzard on the way, a truck full of possessions which needed to be unloaded, a jeep that needed to be picked up at the dealership, and a budget truck that needed to be returned. He came to my rescue, and I love him for that!

It’s doubtful he, or any of those male friends in my life, could realize how comforting it is to have them as backup. Could I have managed on my own? Probably. Reluctantly. But on those rare occasions when I am overwhelmed, feeling all alone and in need of support, I am overjoyed they not only accept my calls in time of need, but come to my rescue.

How do I ever repay them? Well, for starters, I can promise to try and not scare them to death in the future.

Thus, my “to do” list this week consists of a massage, manicure, pedicure, facial, haircut, yoga, steam room, fruits, vegetables, herbal tea and lots of sleep so that I can get back to looking a little more like myself.

Connie Hammond, that is. Not “Nicky Nolte.”

About Constance Hammond

A fun-loving, hard-working bootstrapper...with guts.
This entry was posted in Humorous, Life in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

