Road Trip

Road TripI spent the weekend driving cross country from Aspen back to Minneapolis. Although I wasn’t feeling well, I decided to get outta bed and motivate since getting my rest didn’t seem to be healing me any quicker!

So I got in my car, with kleenex box in hand, and started my cross country journey. Why is it that the first two hours are the hardest of any journey?It seems like I’m constantly looking at the mileage or the time, only to be discouraged when noting that a mere 32 miles or 27 minutes had ticked away ~ certainly not enough ticks on a 1150 mile or 17 hour trip. At least it was an overcast day which, in my opinion, is the ideal forecast for a long road trip.

But, I soon settled my mind and got into the flow, accepting versus fighting the trek ahead.

One thing I remembered fairly early into my journey is how music can heal a bad mood or a sick body! After a few hours, I was singing along to my ipod, albeit quietly, in spite of my sore lungs, and I found I had a smile on my face for the first time in several days. Having strep throat certainly made me feel spent both physically and emotionally.

I also found myself content in knowing that without a doubt I made the right decision to move back to Aspen, where my spirit soars with one glimpse of the mountains. Driving through the mountains always makes me smile, and it was good to validate this decision by paying attention to the way I felt.

So, I made it to Minneapolis safely, but I have been dealing with work and plumbing issues and getting ready for a quick two-day trip to LA tomorrow, so I haven’t had a chance to exhale until about an hour ago.

Now, as I sit here and look around, I think I’ve been robbed.

I can’t seem to find my Emeril Lagasse pots and pans that were boxed up from NYC and sitting on the kitchen floor by the fridge. And then there’s a gaping hole where one of my two rought iron planters should be. So now I’m a bit nervous. What else could be missing? Did one of the visiting realtors steal my stuff? Or, in my rush to re-stage the house one day before I departed for Aspen, did I hide this “clutter” and just can’t remember where I put it?

I guess, ultimately, the good news is that I don’t care (or I’m still too exhausted from being sick to care). Normally, something like this would have me tearing through the house to check for all my can’t-live-without-you belongings. Instead, now I just sit here thinking peacefully…

“If it’s still here, it’s still here. If it’s not, then it’s not. There’s nothing I can do about, and even if I could, I don’t want to. It’s just stuff. If someone needs it so bad they have to steal it, then let them have it.”

Anyway, I keep downsizing my belongings, but I swear they keep multiplying. I came back believing that all that was left to transport to Colorado was furniture with empty drawers. But that’s certainly not the case.

I’m still in transit, but I’m getting closer and closer to being done.

I’ll take one more round of knick-knacks back with me when I return in a week…things that I value which will make my house in Aspen feel more like MY home. Then, in June, I’ll make one final push and move all my favorite pieces of furniture.

Once the house is emptied and all spiffed up, hopefully it will sell and this MN chapter of my life will finally be closed. Minneapolis has served me well, but it’s time for me to move on.

I’m looking forward to the new chapter which lies ahead and am at peace knowing I’m finally ready for it. It has taken me about two years of back and forth and indecision to finally be able to say that and mean it. But that is ok.

I’m fortunate to be changing on my terms and on my timeframe which certainly makes it easier.

[Update: shortly after this post, my house basement flooded and it had to be completely remodeled. So, now I’m back in my newly-remodeled Minneapolis home and am still splitting my time between the two places…ahhhh – life is unpredictable, that’s for sure!]
About Constance Hammond

A fun-loving, hard-working bootstrapper...with guts.
This entry was posted in Life in General, Simplicity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

