Finding Inspiration When You Least Expect It

After another long and depressing day at work, I decided to meet some friends out for dinner in Basalt. My friend Summers thought it would be nice to go to Blue Creek Grill because that’s where she had her recent art opening….

What??? An art opening???

I was stunned. I knew that my good old friend had been dabbling, but I had no idea on what scale.

Two years ago, she’d gone on an African safari, and being the talented photographer that she is, she took some wild pics. Not sure what to do with these stunning, up close (as in five feet away) shots of zebras, lions, tigers, and elephants, she tucked them away physically. Mentally, they kept calling her back.

Finally, she chose to develop them to their fullest potential (4′ x 5′ plus) in order to make the best impact. Framed and ready for market, she took them to the Blue Creek Grill restaurant where over 10 pieces of art are beautifully displayed for public indulgence.

I’m jealous.

How is it that I think I have so much creativity and passion inside, yet here I sit…selling news to corporations. I’ve always been so inspired by Summers because she makes her own choices. Twenty years ago, we were living large in Aspen…having an absolute ball. But after having my fun, I knew it was time to move to Chicago to pursue a “real career.”

Summers thought we were all crazy.

“Are you kidding me? I’m not leaving…this place is awesome,” she’d say. I listened but dismissed her comments as foolish. I was going to be an “owner” afterall — not a “renter” for the rest of my life.

Today, Summers is the owner, and guess who’s the renter in the Roaring Fork Valley? Funny how that turned out.

It makes me think that my fierceness isn’t so fierce afterall. I’m obviously too timid to risk pursuing my passions and living my way for fear that I’ll fail. I’m starting to rethink this approach now.

Maybe it’s age. Maybe it’s boredom. Or maybe it’s just time to get up off my lazy rear and do what I love so I love what I do.

Afterall, living like you mean it takes effort…not to mention courage.

About Constance Hammond

A fun-loving, hard-working bootstrapper...with guts.
This entry was posted in Relationships (all types) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

